The Great 90’s Animated Film Project: An Introduction

It’s an idea born out of madness. And by madness, I’m referring to me being sick and bored.

A couple of weeks ago, I was on Facebook and one of my friends had posted a link to a YouTube video that had three of the numbers from the 1998 animated film The Prince of Egypt. This then sucked me into watching several other videos of musical numbers from the film, which I’ve been meaning to revisit. Since the three movies I’ve recently watched have been Troll 2, The Simpsons Movie, and the animated film Anastasia—Guess which ones I liked more—I thought, “Huh. Both The Prince of Egypt and Anastasia are non-Disney movies with big musical numbers and respected composers, but I think that The Prince of Egypt has better numbers and the film didn’t bastardize the source material as much.”

And so, I’ve decided to watch a bunch of animated films from the 1990’s that stray from the source material and write about them.

Films that will be included in this are:

The Lion King (took some inspiration from Hamlet)
The Swan Princess (Swan Lake)
Pocahontas (the life of Pocahontas)
The Hunchback of Notre Dame (The Hunchback of Notre Dame by Victor Hugo)
Hercules (Greek mythology about the tasks of Herculas)
Anastasia (1956 film with Ingrid Bergman)
The Quest for Camelot (The King’s Damosel by Vera Chapman)
Mulan (Legend of Hua Mulan)
The Prince of Egypt (The story of Moses)
Tarzan (Tarzan of the Apes by Edgar Rice Burroughs)
The Iron Giant (The Iron Giant by Ted Hughes)

Among things I will look at will be whether or not straying from the source material causes a film to be “bad,” the use of musical numbers in animated film and the presence of the Cute Little Animal Sidekick adds or detracts from the story.

So, let’s begin.

Leave a Reply

