“Hobbit”-gate is Over

Shitstorm

That was fun.

Normally, this wouldn’t be a big deal. But normally people don’t throw personal attacks at me when they’re upset over my review.

In less than 24 hours, I received 18 comments, two of them weren’t attacks of me or my review, two of them were from members of the theater’s board of directors. I had to finally close the comments because it was getting out of hand.

And since no one has sent me an angry message on Facebook, I’m declaring it over.

If you’ll excuse me, I need to get back to working on Hot Box of Crazy.

3 thoughts on ““Hobbit”-gate is Over

  1. “People ask for criticism, but they only want praise.” W. Somerset Maugham.

    When I was in Toastmasters, someone who was a ROLFER convinced me to do the sequence. It was my first and last foray into alternative medicine. She asked if I would make one of my speeches about the experience. I did not. She insisted several times. I did not.

    I did not because I was a chickenshit. She clearly was using Toastmasters as a “networking opportunity” and wanted me to be a testimonial. I would not have given that kind of speech, because to be true to myself it would have been a funny speech, at her expense, and at mine for doing it. But I did not do the speech, because, as I said at the start of this paragraph, I was a coward. I did not want to brew up a storm, and humiliate her publicly, and have people not like me for breaking up the civility of our club. Even though she asked. Even though she insisted.

    I regret it. And so I admire you as only the cowards can admire the brave.

    I know how much a negative review can hurt, having read one that singled me out in the Minneapolis paper. And if you came in from Chicago, wrote that review unsolicited, and put it in the Waterloo Courier, they could call you “mean.” But they asked for a Monica Reida review, and you gave it to them. I don’t believe you have anything to be sorry for.

    After a half-masted show, I never ask my wife, “Whadja Think?” unless I am prepared for an honest answer. If I want praise, I say, “What did you like best?” and leave it at that.

    And when I’ve performed poetry at No-Shame, I’ve never asked anyone “Whatdja Think?” Because all I want to hear is praise, and as a grown-up, I would never put anyone in the position where they might have to lie to me.

  2. I’m sorry it has taken me a while to respond.

    I don’t think that a lot of people would be prepared to receive an honest answer to “What did ya think?” If you aren’t prepared, you should ask, “What did you like best?” and I admire that you can distinguish the difference.

  3. Monica,
    Thank you for praising my part of the performance. I am very happy to receive outside critique and recognition. Thanks again
    Whitney

Leave a Reply

