The Great Cupcake Project

cupcake_timerI am not ashamed to admit that I love food.

I love both the preparation of food and the consumption of it; to me, spending two hours in the kitchen preparing mushroom and parmesan risotto is one of the most rewarding things in the world because it tastes so wonderful.

And among the various different dishes and items I enjoy are pastries. But since coming to Chicago, the only places I had consumed wonderful pastries at were Ann Sather’s (cinnamon rolls) and Medici’s on 57th (spinach and feta crossaint).

A couple of weeks ago, someone on Twitter had commented about cupcakes in Chicago. I knew of places with cupcakes, but I hadn’t been to any. Wednesday, while walking to the Greenhouse Theatre Center to see “The Pillowman,” I noticed that there was a cupcake place called Swirlz located at Lincoln and Belmont. Saturday, I was on the bus to get to the brunch and noticed that there was another cupcake place called Molly’s Cupcakes that was on Clark. I suddenly felt fairly stupid because I didn’t know that those places existed in my neighborhood.

Sunday, I was walking around my neighborhood because it was absolutely beautiful outside and I was a bit annoyed and needed to talk a walk. I decided to go to Molly’s Cupcakes, where I ordered a chocolate cupcake with cream cheese frosting and gummy bears. (Don’t worry; I had milk with my whole wheat couscous that evening.) It was delicious and an idea hit me.

What if I went to various cupcake shops in the city, tried their cupcakes, and then decided on which place had the best cupcakes? I would write about the cupcakes here and basically review them.

This isn’t the first time I’ve done this; a couple of years ago I went to all of the sub shops in the Waterloo-Cedar Falls area to figure out who had the best meatball sub. (The answer: Sub City on College Hill in Cedar Falls. They keep their meatballs in a crockpot all day.) But this is a bit more practical because cupcakes are much less expensive than meatball subs.

I have a list seven places that I know of where I can get cupcakes in Chicago: More Cupcakes, Twisted Bakery, Sarah’s Pastries and Candies, Phoebe’s Cupcakes, Meatloaf Bakery, Molly’s Cupcakes and Swirlz Cupcakes. If anyone would like to add to this list, feel free to do so.

I might also have some people aid me in this, simply so I don’t have a sugar overdose. I’m debating that though. Although, More Cupcakes apparently has a BLT cupcake and I want to find someone to try it for me. (When reviewing food, it tends to be better to bring someone with you so they can taste other items.)

But, the Great Cupcake Project will begin later this week and I’ll report back either before I leave for winter break, which is next weekend, or after I get to Iowa when I finish this. So, check back here for an update on the project later.

2 thoughts on “The Great Cupcake Project

  1. Oh, you have no idea what you are getting into. There are many many specialty bakeries, especially catering to cupcake lovers, in this town. Good luck.

  2. So, I’m guessing that my list is severely incomplete and this will take me much more time than I expected. (And in that case, I might want to start working out)

Leave a Reply

