NaNoWriMo or NaPlaWriMo?

The month of November happens to be the month for the annual National Novel Writing Month, NaNoWriMo, and National Playwriting Month, NaPlaWriMo. (It also happens to be NaBloPoMo, but I don’t have something to blog about everyday and I feel like writing every day might be a stretch for me.)

Now, which one of these might I participate in? You might think that I would be participating in NaPlaWriMo because of how much I love the theater. But I’ve decided to participate in NaNoWriMo since the idea that I have for a story to be told would be best told in a novel format rather than in the format of a play.

I have thirty days to write 50,000 words. I already have 1,734 words written, so writing 50,000 words seems like a goal that is possibly achievable.

What will make participating in NaNoWriMo will be that in the month of November, I have finals. I also have entrance essays to work on for two colleges that I’m apply to. (I’m trying to transfer.) So, in addition to those things, I will be trying to write a novel. But, after November 16, I begin my Winter Break, so I should have plenty of time to write.

Well, wish me luck. I won’t abandon this, I promise.
nano_09_blk_participant_120x240.png

3 thoughts on “NaNoWriMo or NaPlaWriMo?

  1. Transferring? I am considering the same thing. Where are you looking?

  2. University of Chicago–which would be in English and Theatre and Performance Studies–and Northwestern University.

  3. Excellent choices.

Leave a Reply

