Bloody Hell

Last night, I was looking at the opening night calendar on TheatreinChicago.com There, I noticed that there are two productions of Martin McDonagh’s “The Pillowman” opening in Chicago in the month of November. Not the Chicagoland area, mind you, the actual city. The first production opens on November 6 at the Greenhouse Theatre Center and is done by the Theatre School at DePaul University. The second production opens on November 21, after the Theatre School at DePaul University’s production closes, and is being done by Redtwist Theatre.

Now, I understand that not everyone will go to both productions. For example, I will be attending the production that the Theatre School at DePaul University is doing because I am going back to Iowa for six weeks on November 21. (Also, I don’t have to pay for tickets for the Theatre School at DePaul’s production.) Some people, might not go to that production because it is done by a university. Some people might not even attend either productions.

But what bothers me is that there are two productions of the same play in one month. I actually like “The Pillowman”; I think it is a great play and I would go into why I think it is a great play, but that’s another post. But I think that two productions of that play in one month in the same city is really excessive. I think that two productions of any play in the same month in the same city is excessive. Sure, every director brings a different perspective to the play and so do the actors, but I think that by doing multiple productions of the same play in one month, even three months, you run the risk of fatiguing a script.

And this is not a play that I want to be fatigued.

So, could people please not do multiple productions of the same show in one month?

(By the way, if anyone thought that the title of this post was to imply my views on the play itself, it was more so a play on the fact that “The Pillowman,” along with everything else McDonagh has written, is a very bloody play.)

Leave a Reply

