An Assessment of GLEE

Something that I hate about some musicals is that I find myself wanting the book to hurry up and get back to the numbers because the musical numbers are so much better and interesting. (I hate it even more when I find myself wanting the musical numbers to hurry up and get back to the book.)

GLEE has become like a musical where I want the spoken part to hurry up so it can get to the musical numbers.

Granted, I thought that last night’s story line was cute with it’s incorporation of “Single Ladies (Put a Ring On It).” But I still had this nagging want for the show to get to the song and dance numbers.

And would it really be too much to ask for Jane Lynch’s character and Rachel Barry (Lea Michelle) to have depth? Because the lack of depth in those characters is driving me nuts.

9 thoughts on “An Assessment of GLEE

  1. You don’t think Rachel has depth? Have you been paying attention?

  2. The lack of depth in Lynch doesn’t bother me. The lack of depth in Will and Rachel who are supposed to be (so far as I knew) the dual protagonists is really annoying.

  3. Rachel seems to behave the same way in every episode. Will does something that she doesn’t like and she has a hissy fit and everyone in glee club goes, “Oh no.” That’s why, in last night’s episode, what happened with Rachel and glee club really didn’t shock me. Because of her behavior and feelings in every recent episode it was very predictable.

    Travis, I’m not sure why Will’s lack of depth, which I do agree with you, there is a lack of depth with his character, hasn’t bothered me yet.

  4. I disagree. I think that there is a lot to why Rachel acts the way that she does. You guys are sort of just writing it off as she just does it to be a brat.

  5. I’m sure there *IS* a lot behind Rachel. They haven’t shown it. We know more about Mohawk Baby-daddy than we do about Rachel.

    At this moment on the show she plays more like a 90% Tracy Flick than a freak or geek.

  6. I thought last night’s episode was very moving because they focused so much on Kurt’s story in way they haven’t done for the other characters. I hope they do the same for Jane Lynch and Lea Michele’s characters. But I have to say, I don’t really like the whole fake pregnancy thing of Matthew Morrison’s wife. It goes beyond bizarre into mental illness.

  7. I went from ambivalence about GLEE to just being annoyed with it.

    And, from what I’ve seen, Rachel has no depth. Sorry, joealmun.

  8. Well robertian, you obviously haven’t been paying attention.

  9. I hope that in the next couple of episodes they do look more about Rachel, why she is the way she is, what has shaped her, her life because otherwise I am going to give up on the show. I do think that there is a reason for her behavior, we just haven’t seen it yet.

    Esther, I do think the whole fake pregnancy thing is really weird and a bit annoying, actually. But I did enjoy seeing Kurt’s story line be deepened and I do now find Kurt to be an interesting character. The annoying thing is that Kurt isn’t a protagonist.

    joealmum, would you please elaborate on how Rachel has depth since you are so steadfast in your belief that she does have depth?

Leave a Reply

