Things I Have Learned After Living in Chicago For One Week

1). The Brown Line is quite possibly the most scenic line of the L. Very lovely.
2). The Fullerton Dominick’s is really messed up.
3). If you call 911 and ask for an ambulance, the fire truck will also come. I’m assuming that this is because the ambulance is part of the fire department.
4). Navy Pier really is an overrated tourist trap that I will only go near for WBEZ or Chicago Shakespeare. I don’t know why I ever doubted anyone.
5). People in Chicago don’t drive like people in Iowa. Actually I already knew that, but it’s still something nice to remember.
6). Unless you really don’t feel like walking the distance to get there, there is no reason to take the Fullerton bus to get to Halsted. Because it takes about one minute to get from the Fullerton and Seminary stop to Halsted.
7). Any object exploding sounds really loud if it explodes near your open window.
8). Construction crews start work really early. Trust me, I learned this the hard way.
9). The Harold Washington Library is absolutely beautiful. They also have a lot of books there, but the architecture is beautiful.
10). On really beautiful days, some businesses/restaurants will open up their windows, which might be windows that fold back or slide back. The breeze you get from this is very nice, but you do have to have something holding down the newspaper so it doesn’t go flying everywhere.

3 thoughts on “Things I Have Learned After Living in Chicago For One Week

  1. Wow, that’s an impressive list after only one week! 😉 I definitely want to hear more things about Chicago as you learn them, so I hope you’ll keep us posted. And I do think the ambulance and fire truck often come together.

  2. HW Library also has a HUGE cast recording collection. (Or they did last time I was there 3 years ago…)

    Good luck on your Chicago travels and explorations! If you need any advice, email me: Robert.bullen@gmail.com

  3. Esther: I never called the ambulance while I lived in Iowa, so it was a bit of a surprise when there was no fire, but the fire truck showed up with the ambulance. And these were just the first ten things that popped into my mind. I left off things like how wonderful the custard at Scooters is and how large the sandwiches at Eleven City Diner are.

    I will have to keep the cast recording collection in mind, Robert, and at least see if they still do. And if I ever need any advice, I will remember to turn to you.

Leave a Reply

