I Might Keep My Landline to Be Able to Keep Doing This

This morning, I was sitting in my living room when the phone rang.

Me: Hello?
Person on the other end: (Identifies himself with a group that has Freedom or Patriot in it’s name) May we please have a moment of time for you to answer some questions?
Me: Sure.
Person on the other end: Which of the following problems are you most concerned about: President Obama wanting to mandate abortions, President Obama wanting to have panels decide when your loved ones will die, President Obama mandating how your loved ones will die or President Obama mandating sex-change operations?
Me: Actually, all of those problems are either grossly misinterpreted parts of the health care reform bills or they’re made up problems meant to scare people.
Person on the other end: Uh, good day. (hangs up)

No, I did not make that up.

4 thoughts on “I Might Keep My Landline to Be Able to Keep Doing This

  1. Monica, please turn this into an xkcd comic. It would be brilliant. I need to start answering yes to telemarketers and surveyors when they call haha.

  2. […] At Fragments (I Can Have Oodles of Charm When I Want To), Monica transcribes a landline phone call that was clearly an anti-Obama effort. Hilarious but outrageous. […]

  3. If I turn this into an xkcd comic, that means that I’ll have to figure out if there is a paint application on my MacBook. But I actually once spent fifteen minutes on the phone with a woman doing a survey on the Courier, even though I don’t read the Courier.

  4. I love it!

Leave a Reply

