So, About the Whole Actors-Are-Not-Their-Characters Thing…

I’ve decided I would give readers a bit of a break from my lengthy posts with a lighter post.

On Wednesday, I attended the play “The Princess Who Wouldn’t Wear Pink” at Brucemore. My dear mother accompanied me to the play, as she frequently does. (I happen to enjoy attending plays with either of my parents due to their interest and love for the arts.)

As we were pulling up the drive, we both noticed that Jim Kern, the executive director of Brucemore, was directing traffic. Kern also played Roy Cohn in Theatre Cedar Rapids’ production of “Angels in America,” which my mother and I also saw. I didn’t think much of the fact that he was directing traffic, but my mother said, “Oh my god, it’s Roy Cohn!”

Thirty minutes later, Kern walked onstage to give the curtain speech. The show, which was done by the outdoor children’s theater, had several young children in the audience and it actually seemed as though the children outnumbered the adults.

My mother turned to me and said, “Oh no, Roy Cohn is going to speak to the children!” For those of you familiar with Tony Kushner’s play, I am pleased to report that Kern didn’t say any vile things like Cohn does in the play.

The remark did make me burst out into laughter during the curtain speech. Luckily for me, it was the curtain speech. This is not the first time my mother has said something to me during a show that has caused me to laugh. The most memorable instance was at “The Drowsy Chaperone,” when, after Man in Chair said that he hates theater and finds it depressing (the stage and the theater is completely dark when he says this, by the way), my mother turned to me and whispered in my ear, “Is this Charles Isherwood?”

Leave a Reply

