Iran

I am not an expert on Iran or on government in the Middle East. As an observer, I have struggled to find the words to describe my thoughts watching what is happening there.

My knowledge on what occurred during the revolution in Iran thirty years ago comes from Marjane Satrapi’s “Persepolis” and conversations I had with the Muslim students at the high school I attended, many of whom immigrated from Middle Eastern countries.

The current protests remind me a bit of the Tiananmen Square protests. I know that I’m too young to remember what happened then, but in my high school eastern civilization class, the instructor showed us a video of the footage of the protests.

I remember sitting there and feeling several feelings as I watched this video. I wanted to cry because of the sheer horror of what was happening and for the innocent lives lost. I wanted to vomit because of the fact that a government would do such a thing to their citizens who made their voices heard. I was also amazed by the courage of those that protested on that fateful day in 1989.

That’s how I feel right now as I read articles from the Associated Press and various other news sources, as I see the pictures and video on Andrew Sullivan’s blog, as I looked at the picture on the front page of the New York Times, which showed a man being beaten with billy clubs as a woman rushed towards him as if to stop those beating him.

I expected that Ahmadinejad would not go down peacefully. I didn’t think that it would be this violent though.

But the Iranians who are being brave enough to go out in the streets and protest I can only stand back in awe of them. I stand in awe of the Iranians that are using Twitter and the protests to make their voices heard against a corrupt government, even if it means risking their lives.

My thoughts are with the people of Iran and with their families. I hope that the people receive the justice, that of their voice in the election being heard and counted. It is sad to know that the people of Iran don’t have all of the facts about this election.

I might be a German-American sitting in Iowa, but what it seems to me is that many of the people in Iran want the truth. It seems as though they want people to know the truth about what is happening, they want to know the truth about what happened with their voices, they want to know the truth from their government.

That is all I can type at the moment. I’ve been crying quite a bit typing this up because of how emotionally moving the events in Iran are to me, and it’s actually hindering my ability to type now. I only hope for the best for the people of Iran.

Semper veritas.

Leave a Reply

