Some Interesting Things From Various Places

Over the course of the next few days, I’ll be doing a bit of an answering of some questions people have about this blog. For example: “Why is your blog so theatre centric?” Or “What’s with the St. Louis stuff?” Or “Why do you have some of those blogs on your blogroll?”

This is because presently my mind is not in the mood for blogging like I normally do. I probably wouldn’t have posted anything today if Theatre Cedar Rapids’ hadn’t announced their season. Also, I just learned to knit because I tend to be very stressed out. (Although, a woman just told me the other day that she wished she could have my voice on an audiobook to make her feel calmer. No, she didn’t see me play Katurian in “The Pillowman.”)

But, to amuse/provoke thought/discussion, I have some links to some articles and blog posts that I presently find interesting.

At “Everything I Know I Learned From Musicals,” Chris Caggiano has a post on why file sharing is bad, in this case with cast albums.

At “What Blows/What’s Good in New York Theatre,” Rocco discusses the Bret Michael’s incident at the Tonys.

Isaac Butler has an interesting post on how much playwrights get paid on “Parabasis.”

I’m not sure what to think about “Flamingo Court.” (From “Upstaged”)

From the St. Louis Post-Dispatch, Judith Newmark has some interesting arguments for the performances of touring shows on the Tony awards. Also, Bill McClellan has probably the most interesting argument against Sonia Sotomayor as a Supreme Court justice. His reasoning is that Obama promised a judge with “empathy,” and Sotomayor has the incredible story, similar to President Obama’s, about overcoming adversity. McClellan wants someone who has been there with most Americans. Lost their job, maybe a functioning alcoholic. While I don’t have anything wrong with Sotomayor, I think McClellan has an interesting argument. I’m also pleased to see him not use the “racist” argument so many people have been using.

Leave a Reply

