The Inner Circle?

On Time Out New York‘s theater blog “Upstaged,” Adam Feldman has been posting videos of this year’s New York Drama Critics Circle Awards. Feldman also happens to be the president of the New York Drama Critics Circle and this is to try to give the group a bit of a transparency.

Anyway, the category is labeled as “The Inner Circle.” For those of you not familiar with the New York Drama Critics Circle, Ben Brantley and Charles Isherwood are not part of the inner circle.

Why are the two critics that are viewed as wielding the most power over New York theater not in this group? Well, there is a reason why.

According to the Circle’s website, in the 1988-1989 theater season, the Times ordered that none of their critics could participate in any awards. In the 1996-1997 season, this decision was reversed. And then in the 2002-2003 season, it was reversed again.

So, in short, the New York Times says that none of their critics can vote on awards. Not a single one. The theater critics can’t vote for theater awards, A.O. Scott and Manohla Dargis can’t vote on the New York Film Critics Circle, and Alessandra Stanley can’t vote on…well, whatever that would be.

But I’m just saying that I think it’s amusing that the critics perceived as having quite a bit of power aren’t in “the inner circle.”

On a side note, does anyone other than Isaac, Rob, and Linda at Critic-O-Meter and theater producers read the theater reviews in Entertainment Weekly? My sister reads Entertainment Weekly and she didn’t know there were theater reviews.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s