Remaining Tony Award Nomination Predictions

So here are my remaining nomination predictions. Feel free to argue, discuss.

Best Musical

next to normal
Billy Elliot
Rock of Ages
9 to 5

Watch me be wrong on those. I’m actually a bit uncertain about all three of those, except for “Billy Elliot”. But I’m going with these for the following reasons.

1). I think there is a greater chance of a show that’s open being nominated than a show that is closed. 2). “Rock of Ages” and “next to normal” are transfers from off-Broadway. 3). I don’t think that “Shrek” is getting much support.

Best Musical Revival

Guys and Dolls
Pal Joey
Hair
West Side Story

These were the only revivals of musicals that opened this season. Although, I think “Hair” will win.

Best Revival of a Play

Exit the King
Joe Turner’s Come and Gone
The Norman Conquests
Mary Stuart

Simply put, the critics adored these shows and they’re still running.

Also, I think Raul Esparza will be nominated for Best Performance by a Lead Actor in a Play for Speed-the-Plow. At least, I hope so.

Leave a Reply

