Theatre Cedar Rapids Announces 2009-2010 Season

Theatre Cedar Rapids has announced their 2009-2010 season, which I will unfortunately not be able to see most of.
“Altar Boyz” will be done September 11-23 at TCR Lindale. This is pending, but October 16-25 they will be doing “Rock n’ Roll” by Tom Stoppard. Yes, you read that last sentance correctly. This makes me very happy because I was once asked by an employee at one of the theaters in Eastern Iowa what show I would love for them to do. I said anything by Tom Stoppard, which was greeted with a moan. (This was not at Theatre Cedar Rapids.)

November 20-December 6 they will be performing “Annie”, which I can’t stand, but it’s the quintessential family show. Also, I think TCR could do a pleasant production.

January 15-24 they will be performing “The Laramie Project” by Moisés Kaufman. That will be their last show in TCR Lindale.

February 26-March 14 the inagural show at the renovated Iowa Theater Building will be “The Producers.” This is probably the show I’m the most distraught about missing because I’ve loved that show for so long. And, yes, I saw it on Broadway.

April 9-18 they will be performing David Auburn’s Pulitzer Prize winning drama “Proof”. I saw a production of it at the Waterloo Community Playhouse a few years ago and I’m amazed that this will be the first time TCR does it. Normally, TCR does a show and then WCP does it.

May 14-23 they will be performing “Still Life With Iris”, whis is about a girl who is separated from her family and loses her memory.

And the season finishes July 9-25 with “Hairspray”, which is also pending. After reading some of the reviews of the original Broadway production, I’m much warmer to this than I was before.

Leave a Reply

