Predictions for the Best Play Tony Nominees

Since there are no more new plays opening on Broadway by the deadline for the Tony Awards, I’m going to make predictions as to who will be nominated for Best Play.

The American Plan
Dividing the Estate
God of Carnage
reasons to be pretty

My reasoning for those plays as predictions is this.

To Be Or Not To Be sucked, according to the reviews. I don’t think that 33 Variations will be nominated. I might be a little surprised, but I think it’s very dubious. There is no way in hell that Impressionism is getting nominated. And I don’t think that Irena’s Vow is going to be nominated. I don’t know why, but I do.

All of the shows at the Roundabout were/are revivals. The other show that Lincoln Center Theater is doing on Broadway is a revival. Speed-the-Plow and Hedda Gabler were revivals and unless the Tony Awards committee opens up another can of craziness, Exit the King is a revival.

The remaining plays that will be opening before the deadline, Accent on Youth, Waiting for Godot, The Philanthropist, Joe Turner’s Come and Gone, Desire Under the Elms, Mary Stuart, and The Norman Conquests are all revivals.

I am also suddenly realizing how many revivals there are this year.

Leave a Reply

