Shut Up, People Who Have a Beef With My Articles

I’m resorting to this because I’m less than thrilled with major editing error that an editor made on an article that I wrote that’s being run today in the publication I write for. I’m thinking of writing for another one.

The title is also a reference to the fact that I wrote an article on the Iowa Supreme Court’s ruling and several people are upset because “I’m giving the gays too much power.” How? I’m reporting on a major, historic event. How does that give them power?

Strangely enough, I had an opinion piece published in November saying that Proposition 8 denied equality to Californians. That was my opinion and no one got upset.

Anyway, some news tidbits that are interesting, or cheered me up, happened after I found out about this, so my mood wasn’t too sour.

-The state of Vermont has become the fourth state to legalize gay marriage. Governor Jim Douglas had vetoed the bill and the House of Representatives got the 2/3 vote required to override the veto. Marriages can begin to occur in September.

This makes me very happy, especially since it seems as though suddenly all of these states are legalizing same-sex marriages. Connecticut in November, Iowa on Friday, and now Vermont. [New York Times]

-The Washington D.C. City Council has voted to recognize same-sex marriages from other states. This still has to go before the U.S. Congress, who oversees laws for the city under “House Rule.” For more info on that, please see your Constitution. [Washington Post]

-The marriages in Iowa have had the starting date moved to April 27. And Governor Chet Culver has announced that he is reluctant to support a constitutional ban on same-sex marriages. You can read the statement on the Des Moines Register’s website.

-Charles Isherwood gives “Rock of Ages” a fairly positive review. I’m surprised. [New York Times]

-And Out Magazine has released their list of the 50 most powerful Gays and Lesbians in America. The New York Times Gay Mafia (which isn’t turning me gay) fell by one spot to 13. I’ll have more thoughts on that later.

One thought on “Shut Up, People Who Have a Beef With My Articles

  1. […] Fragments: I Can Have Oodles of Charm When I Want To, Monica rages against incompetent editors and read Hilton Als’ review of Hair and concludes: […]

Leave a Reply

