Artwork at Exhibit Better Than Postcard for Opening Reception

An exhibit that I have a piece of artwork in opens on Saturday, with an opening reception on Sunday.

The other day I received a postcard reminding me “Hey, you have artwork in this exhibit!” I didn’t forget, it’s been on my calendar for months.

But on the postcard was an image of hands holding a cellphone typing a text message as though they were telling their friends “Come 2 this thing.” (Again, it was painful to type that.)

There were symbols, abbreviations in the message. Naturally, I was perplexed by this. I had been accepted to get my degree in English and Theater Arts at one college. I’m a stickler for grammar and English teachers adore me.

I threw it in the trash after being annoyed by the design (the image was also grainy), but it kept coming into my mind as I keep thinking about the postcard that motivated me to not go to the opening reception.

Leave a Reply

