Yes, He’s the Senator From Iowa

I’m actually sad I didn’t post this yesterday after I read it on my cellphone (I was busy seeing Shaw, taking care of college stuff).

Anyway, Thursday during a Senate Budget Committee meeting, Senator Charles Grassley of Iowa said to Kent Conrad of North Dakota, “I’d like to suggest to the chairman that he might want to support this because, you remember, you asked me two years ago not to take a vote on it and you said if we did take a vote on it you might not get your budget resolution adopted. So I did not ask for a vote on it and you said it was a very statesmanlike thing for me to do at that particular time and so I would hope that you would return the favor.”

Conrad laughed and said, “You know, I used to like you. Let me just say: Oh, you are good.”

“Well, your wife said the same thing,” Grassley retorted.

In short, the honorable Republican senator from Iowa made a “That’s what she said” joke.

(From the Huffington Post, which also has the CSPAN clip of it.)

One thought on “Yes, He’s the Senator From Iowa

Leave a Reply

